Just One Joe – A letter to America

I’m 26 years old, I’ve been married for almost 7 years, and I have a son and a daughter in elementary school. I grew up in Georgia, but I live in Colorado Springs now. I come from a long line of military officers, so I was sort of “destined” to serve. Although I only have 3 ½ years in the Army, I’ve been wearing the uniform for 12 years (JROTC & ROTC). I have a degree in computer science and I’m a music & movie enthusiast.

Now that you know a little about me, I’d like to inform you on what Iraq is really like.

Iraq is a war-torn country in political and engineering shambles. When the U.S. invaded Iraq in 2003, the intent was to remove Saddam Hussein from power. Once that was done, the military then targeted all Ba’athists (members of Saddam’s political party) because they were assumed to be loyal to Saddam. The problem with this “eradication” was the Ba’athists were the people who managed Iraq’s infrastructure. So our targeting caused the collapse of all of their water, power, sewage, oil, and transportation capabilities!

>> Read the whole letter

Leave a Reply

